Following the initial Queensland-based success in 1983 and a second one in 1986, this year saw the first of a string of four consecutive Queensland wins for this particular trophy. After an amazing 1,300 journey in 1927 14HP, Jack Straughan took yet another (having also won 4 other awards at this rally) trophy home.