The Armstrong Siddeley Car Club of Australia

ASCC Federal Rally #9 Deniliquin 1976

The 1976 Deniliquin Rally was organised by the South Australian Branch. Cars proved difficult to clean after travelling through swarms of plague locusts. Highlights of the rally were Bruce Caldwell's 1929 12HP which had not been seen before at a rally and the procession down the main street led by a jazz band. The Rev Ken Luck had to have extra prayers on Sunday after hearing Mario Sbrana's Maserati backfire. Penn Bradly's 1959 Star Sapphire took out a hat-trick of awards; the Star Sapphire class, the Longest Distance Travelled to the rally and the Best Restoration.

Concours Results

Vintage 1929 20HP 44838 - John & Alison Colbrook
Pre-war Not awarded
16/18HP 1950 Whitley C189170 - Charles McCarron
Sapphire Mk1 1954 C342542 - Garth Pennington
Sapphire Mk2 1956 C346129 - Graham Knott
Sapphire 234/236 1957 236 C230459 - Helen Andrews
Star Sapphire 1959 330382 - Penn Bradly
Best restoration - first time presented 1959 Star Sapphire 330382 - Penn Bradly

Other Trophies Awarded

Longest distance travelled to rally 1959 Star Sapphire 330382 - Penn Bradly
Hardluck Ralph Tolson
The Armstrong Siddeley Car Club of Australia
Armstrong Siddeley Car Club, PO Box 699, FRESHWATER NSW 2096
Phone Rowan Fitzpatricke, President, 0404 032 113
ACN 001 059 212
Manage your car club online with