The Armstrong Siddeley Car Club of Australia

ASCC Federal Rally #12 Wagga Wagga 1979

The Victorian Branch organised the 1979 Rally. Paul Caro placed a 20HP radiator in line at the concours and attached a notice "WATCH THIS SPACE". Howard McCormick won the longest distance trophy by coming from Perth via Rockhampton as part of a round Australia trip by Sapphire, arriving with a burnt out piston. This incredible journey of just over 6,000 kilometers set a new record that still stands and is unlikely to be beaten. The People's Choice Trophy was introduced at this rally.

Concours Results

Vintage 1929 20HP 44838 - John Colbrook
Pre-war 1934 12HP 91320 - Anna Lees
16/18HP 1950 Whitley C189710 - Charles McCarron
Sapphire Mk1 1953 (4 light) C340413 - Peter Woodward
Sapphire Mk2 1955 C345577 - Harry Cooper
Sapphire 234/236 1957 236 C230459 - Helen Andrews
Star Sapphire 1060 330724 - John Link
Best restoration - first time presented 1950 Hurricane C189066 - Penn Bradly

Other Trophies Awarded

Longest distance travelled to rally Mk2 Sapphire C344540 - Howard McCormick
Hardluck Howard McCormick
People's choice 1950 Hurricane C189066 - Penn Bradly
The Armstrong Siddeley Car Club of Australia
Armstrong Siddeley Car Club, PO Box 699, FRESHWATER NSW 2096
Phone Rowan Fitzpatricke, President, 0404 032 113
ACN 001 059 212
Manage your car club online with