The Armstrong Siddeley Car Club of Australia

ASCC Federal Rally #41 Echuca 2008

The Riverboat Rally was organized by Victoria Branch at the wonderful town of Echuca, once one of the busiest ports along the Murray River.  The concours was held on the banks of the river just a stone’s throw from the mooring spot of a number of steam boats.  Sunday saw us visiting the Great Aussie Beer Shed for a talk on the early pioneering days and inspecting some of the 16,000 plus beer cans on display! David Armstrong collected a hat-trick of awards for Star Sapphire, Best Overall and the Ron Beer Memorial Trophy. Helen Andrews must have experienced a "Rally Horribilis", receiving both the Hardluck and Against All Odds trophies.

Concours Results

Vintage 14HP Mendip 19574 - John Graham
Pre-war Not awarded
Station/Utility Coupe Station Coupe C188731 - Ron & Leanne Cleghorn
16/18HP Hurricane C1811269 - Allan & Gloria Mack
Sapphire Mk1 C340421 - Graham & Pauline Carson
Sapphire Mk2 (Limousine) C346515 - Barry & Glenys Jones
Sapphire 234/236 1957 234 C4230454 - Penn Bradly
Star Sapphire 330724 - David Armstrong
Best Overall Star Sapphire 330724 - David Armstrong
Best restoration - first time presented Sapphire Mk2 Limousine C346515 - Barry & Glenys Jones
Ron Beer memorial trophy David Armstrong

Other Trophies Awarded

Longest distance travelled to rally Doug & Heather Stewart
Hardluck Helen Andrews
People's choice Hurricane C1811269 - Allan & Gloria Mack
Presidents choice Sapphire Mk1 C341795 - Doug & Heather Stewart
Most miles in a year Not awarded
Against all odds Helen Andrews

Club Person of the Year

  Peter & Ann Mitchell
The Armstrong Siddeley Car Club of Australia
Armstrong Siddeley Car Club, PO Box 699, FRESHWATER NSW 2096
Phone Rowan Fitzpatricke, President, 0404 032 113
ACN 001 059 212
Manage your car club online with