The Armstrong Siddeley Car Club

Competition results: Concours d'Elegance - 1988 Thredbo

Friday, 1st January 1988 at Thredbo NSW.

Competition categoryOwner/DriverCarPositionResulting timeNotes
VintageJack Straughan1927 14HP1
PreWarKen Frost1933 12HP1
16/18HPNorm MurdochStation Coupe1C188373
Sapphire Mk1Garth Pennington1954 Armstrong Siddeley Sapphire Mk 11C342542
Sapphire Mk2Andrew Christophersen1956 Armstrong Siddeley Sapphire Mk 21C346045
Sapphire 234/236Graeme Handley1956 Armstrong Siddeley 2361C230253
Star SapphirePenn Bradly1959 Armstrong Siddeley Star1330158
Longest Distance Travelled to RallyJack Straughan1927 14HP1AS26339 Following the initial Queensland-based success in 1983 and a second one in 1986, this year saw the first of a string of four consecutive Queensland wins for this particular trophy. After an amazing 1,300 journey in 1927 14HP, Jack Straughan took yet another (having also won 4 other awards at this rally) trophy home.
Hardluck & PerserveranceHarry Cooper1
Best Restoration First Time PresentedCraig Douglas1927 14HP126339
People's ChoiceJack Straughan14HP (1927)1AS26339
President's ChoicePeter HillsStation Coupe1C188373
Most Miles in YearCliff Grice1950 Armstrong Siddeley Utility Coupe1C188207
The Armstrong Siddeley Car Club
Armstrong Siddeley Car Club, PO Box 162, Katoomba NSW 2780
Phone Rowan Fitzpatricke, President, 0404 032 113
ACN 001 059 212
Manage your car club online with